Greek Musical Writings, Volume 2: Harmonic and Acoustic Theory

TitleGreek Musical Writings, Volume 2: Harmonic and Acoustic Theory
Publication TypeBook
Year of Publication1989
EditorBarker, A
TranslatorBarker, A
Ancient AuthorsAristoxenus Mus. (TLG 0088), Euclides Geom. (TLG 1799), Porphyrius Phil. (TLG 2034), Claudius Ptolemaeus Math. (TLG 0363), Aristides Quintilianus Mus. (TLG 2054), Nicomachus Math. (TLG 0358), Theophrastus Phil. (TLG 0093), Theon Phil. (TLG 1724), Pythagoras Phil. (TLG 0632), Archytas Phil. (TLG 0620), Plato Phil. (TLG 0059), Aristoteles et Corpus Aristotelicum Phil. (TLG 0086)
Series TitleCambridge Readings in the Literature of Music
Number of Pagesviii + 581 pp.
PublisherCambridge Unviersity Press

This second volume of Greek Musical Writings contains important texts on harmonic and acoustic theory, illustrating the progress of these sciences from their beginnings in the sixth century BC over the subsequent thousand years. Writers represented include Philolaus, Plato, Aristotle, Theophrastus, Aristoxenus, Ptolemy, Aristides, Archytas, and Quintilianus. All the Greek texts are newly translated by the editor. Some replace inadequate existing translations; other significant portions of the book include much that is essential for an understanding of medieval and Renaissance musicology. Dr Barker provides detailed and authoritative commentary and annotations to all the texts. Each section is prefaced by an introductory essay and some of the more complex issues are discussed further in appendices. []


CR 1991 41 (1): 45-46 M. L. West; CW 1992 85 (3),: 262 Jon Solomon; Music & Letters 1991 72 (1): 69-71 E. Kerr Borthwick; Notes, Second Series 1991 47 (3): 727-729 Edward Lippman; Revue des Études Grecques 1990 103 (490/491): 290-291 Jean Irigoin

Site information

© 2007-2012 MOISA: International Society for the Study of Greek and Roman Music and Its Cultural Heritage

Site designed by Geoff Piersol and maintained by Stefan Hagel
All rights reserved.