Greek Musical Writings, Volume 1: The Musician and his Art

TitoloGreek Musical Writings, Volume 1: The Musician and his Art
Publication TypeLibro
Year of Publication1984
EditorBarker, A
TranslatorBarker, A
Ancient AuthorsXenophon Hist. (TLG 0032), Plato Phil. (TLG 0059), Aristophanes Comic. (TLG 0019), Athenaeus Soph. (TLG 0008), Aristoteles et Corpus Aristotelicum Phil. (TLG 0086), Pseudo-Plutarchus Biogr., Phil. (TLG 0094), Theophrastus Phil. (TLG 0093), Pindarus Lyr. (TLG 0033), Damon Mus. (TLG 2232), Homerus Epic. (TLG 0012), Hesiodus Epic. (TLG 0020), Hymni Homerici Hymn. (TLG 0013), Archilochus Eleg., Iamb. (TLG 0232)
Series TitleCambridge Readings in the Literature of Music
Number of Pagesxv + 332 pp.
PublisherCambridge University Press

This book is the first of two volumes offering a selection of Greek writings on music, newly translated into English and equipped with an extensive commentary. This volume contains passages from Greek poets, historians and essayists, evoking or describing aspects of the practical activities of musical performance and composition, together with excerpts from philosophers and social critics who comment on the moral, education and aesthetic dimensions of the art. Music was of fundamental importance in the culture of ancient Greece. Its nature and significance cannot now, perhaps, be fully recaptured, but we have a rich fund of information about the Greek experience of music, its forms, its meanings, its social roles, and the practical details of its composition and performance. []


CR 1985 35 (2): 364-365 M. L. West; Early Music 1985 13 (1): 93-95 John Caldwell; Music & Letters 1986 67 (1): 80-82 Jon Solomon; Phoenix 1986 40 (1): 121-122 M. Owen Lee; Die Musikforschung 1988 41 (3): 288-290 Thomas A. Szlezák; Musical Times 1986 127 (1717): 153-154 J. G. Landels; Revue des Études Grecques 1990 103 (490/491): 290-291 Jean Irigoin


© 2007-2012 MOISA: Società internazionale per lo studio della musica greca e romana e della sua eredità culturale.

Sito disegnato da Geoff Piersol a aggiornato da Stefan Hagel